J.C. Bose University of Science and Technology, YMCA, Faridabad (formerly YMCA University of Science and Technology) was established in 2009 by Haryana State Legislative Act No. 21 of 2009 and Haryana Government Gazette Notification No. 29 of 2009, dated 16.9.2009.

Before the University came into existence, it had a humble beginning in 1969 as YMCA Institute of Engineering with an intake of 120 students. It was an Indo-German Project – a Joint Venture of the State Government (erstwhile Punjab) and National Council of YMCAs of India with active assistance from overseas Agencies of West Germany. The Institute was started with the aim to impart technical education to a developing India on German pattern and to produce highly practical oriented personnel in specialized fields of engineering to meet specific technical manpower requirements of industries.

During its formative years, the land of 20 acres to YMCAIE was provided by the State Government for the construction of teaching block, hostels and residential campus. The labs and workshops were set up with the assistance of German expertise. The State Govt started funding 100% grant-in-aid to YMCAIE from the year 1994 onwards, and subsequently took over the management and the resources in the year 1998. The YMCAIE was upgraded to the University by the Legislative Act 21 of 2009. The UGC granted the 12(B) status to the University in the Year 2012 enabling it to receive grants from UGC. The University accredited by NAAC with ‘A+’ Grade in the second circle of accreditation in the year 2022. In 2017, it got the status to grant affiliation to the Engineering Colleges situated in district Palwal and Faridabad. In 2018, the University was named after the great scientist Jagadish Chandra Bose by the State Government vide a notification dated 11.10.2018 (Haryana Legislative Act No. 29 of 2018).

The salient features of German education have been retained by the University and as such the University stands apart from other Universities of Haryana. The sophisticated equipment and machines in the workshops and laboratories enable the students to operate various machines independently so as to acquire thorough knowledge and develop competence in their respective skills.

The University has a rich alumni network as its alumni are the leaders in the Industry and corporate world. They have played a significant role in the Industrial development of Faridabad and contributing significantly to the techno-economic growth of the country.

At present, the University offers a four-year B.Tech degree in almost all disciplines. Besides, it is offering Science, Management and Arts courses at UG and PG level. At UG level, BSc (Hons) in Physics, Chemistry and Math, BCA, BBA, BA in Journalism & Mass Communication and BA Social Work and BSc (Animation & Multimedia) have been introduced.

Similarly, at PG level, M.Tech (in all disciplines), MCA, MBA, MSc (Physics, Chemistry, Environment Studies, Math, Bio-Technology, Botany, Zoology and Microbiology, Animation and Multimedia), MA (Journalism & Mass Communication and English) are being offered. The University also offers Ph.D programs in all disciplines. The University also runs various B.Voc and skill related diploma and certificate courses under its Community College of Skill Development. (List of courses offered by the CCSD)

The present campus of the University is situated on National Highway-2, Mathura Road, 30 km from National Capital, Delhi. The University campus is located in the sprawling Faridabad-Ballabgarh Industrial complex. The State Government has also allotted 18 acres of land to the University on Faridabad-Gurugram Road in village Bhakari for its second campus.