The J.C Bose University of Science and Technology, YMCA, Faridabad erstwhile YMCA  University of Science and Technology, Faridabad was established in the year 1969, as a joint venture of the National Council of YMCAs of India, Govt of Haryana, and the Central Agencies for Development Aid, Bonn, Germany. It started as an Indo-German project with an aim to impart technical education to a developing India on German pattern.

The department of Mechanical Engineering has been in existence since inception of institute in 1969. It offered Post-Diploma courses with specialization in three streams viz. i) Machine Tools; ii) Refrigeration and Air-conditioning; iii) Fabrication, Welding and Sheet Metal Technology.

The labs & workshops have been setup with the assistance of German expertise. In 1996, State Govt. of Haryana took complete control of the Institute and upgraded it to University status in Dec. 2009.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering offers courses at UG and PG level. At UG level, B.Tech. course in Mechanical Engineering, started in 1997 with an intake of 60 students and it has been increased 120 student at present. M.Tech. programme in Mechanical Engineering with specialization in Manufacturing Technology and Automation was started from the academic year 2003-04 and has an intake of 18 students. The University had started Ph.D. Course since 2010 and 57 students have registered themselves for the Ph.D. programme in the department.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering has a distinguished record in both teaching and research. The department was shifted to the new building in January 2009 with modern facilities and a dedicated technical and office staff to support the academic programs and research.

The department is actively engaged in research work in the broad area of Design of Mechanical Equipment, Design & Manufacturing, Thermal, Energy Conservation, TQM, Product and Service Quality, Computer Integrated Manufacturing, Manufacturing, Industrial Engineering, Computer Aided Engineering, Just in Time, etc.

The departmental facilities include 14 labs, 3 workshops (Machine Tools, Refrigeration & Air conditioning, Fabrication & Sheet Metal Technology), 8 lecture halls, 1 conference room and 1 seminar hall with Wi-Fi facilities. Department has four centres of excellence in collaboration with Danfoss Industries (P) Ltd. (for Climate and Energy), Daikin Air-Conditioning (P) Ltd (for Air-Conditioning), BOSCH and Royal Enfield.

The department has highly qualified and experienced faculty including 11 professors, 2 Associate professors and 13 Assistant Professors. 25 of the faculty members are Ph.D. holders with average experience of 14 years approximately.

During last 5 years, faculty members have published more than 500 papers in various National and International Journals and Conferences of repute in India and abroad.

The Mechanical Engineering Department is also highly active in co-curricular and technical activities. Two of its club namely MechNext Club and SAE India YMCA Collegiate Club are actively engaged in practising latest developments for innovative design of automobile vehicles and has won many prizes at National level.